About MSCRS keyboard_arrow_down

In 2003, a group of like-minded surgeons formed a special interest group, with the objective of improving the quality of colorectal surgery in Malaysia. This subsequently developed into the Malaysian Society of Colorectal Surgeons, which was formally registered with the Registry of Societies Malaysia, in 2006.

Since then, the society has pursued its goals of promoting colorectal services, training and research through a multitude of activities, including scientific conferences, workshops, access to academic literature and postgraduate training funding, as well as advocating for colorectal surgeons. Its flagship conference is the annual Coloproctology meeting in March, during which the AGM is held.

The society also maintains strong collaborations with sister societies internationally, as well as related societies such as enterostomal therapy nurses associations, ostomy societies and colorectal cancer survivor support groups.

Members comprise qualified colorectal surgeons, from both private and public sectors, the latter of which include academics and Ministry of Health surgeons. Associate membership is open to those who do not fulfil the criteria for full membership.

Dr. Luqman Mazlan President
Professor Dr. April Camilla Roslani Immediate Past President
Dr. Nurhashim Haron
Vice President
Associate Professor Aini Fahriza Ibrahim Hon Secretary
Dr. Elaine Ng Hui Been Hon Treasurer
Dr. Buvanesvaran Tachina, Dr Norfarizan Azmi Council Member